Tuesday 22 December 2020

15. Monumental Architecture


15. Monumental Architecture

I. Answer the following Questions

1. Which are the main temples of the Northern India?

2. Describe the main features of the Indian-Muslim architecture.

3. Which are the temples of the Southern India?

4. Make list of the monuments constructed during the Delhi Sultanate.

5. Why Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan is called the 'Prince of Builders’?

II. Fill in the Blanks:

1. The Birhadeshvara Temple is situated at-------. 

2. The Qutab Minar was completed by----------. 

3.  ---------near Agra, was built by Akbar as his new capital.

 4. The Buland Darwaja is situated--------. 

5. The Taj Mahal was built by   in the memory of----------.

6. Jahangir built--------. 

III. Write True or False for each statement.

1. Turks and Afghans introduced new styles and techniques of architecture in India.

2 The Temples at Khajuraho were built by the rulers of the Chandella dynasty.

3 Ala-ud-din Khalji built a new capital at Sin.

4. Muhammad Tughlaq built Tughlaqabad.

5. The Dravidian style of architecture was used in the Cholas temples.

IV. Match the following columns


Column A

Column B

1. Lingaraja Temple

1. Bhubneshwar

2. Birhadeshvara Temple

2. Delhi

3. Adhai Din Ka Jhonpara

3. Fatehpur Sikri

4. Adina Masjid

4. Khajuraho

5. Humayun's Tomb

5. Madurai

6. Moti Masjid

6- Agra

7. Red Fort

7. Tanjore

8. Taj Mahal

8. Ajmer



Collect pictures of the monumental architecture of the Mughal Period and paste them in your note book.

Draw the Taj Mahal.